Agricultural Proficiency Awards


Agricultural Proficiency Awards

Doing to Learn

Agricultural Proficiency Awards honor FFA members who, through supervised agricultural experiences, have developed specialized skills that they can apply toward their future careers.

Nationally, students can compete for awards in nearly 50 areas ranging from agricultural communications to wildlife management (see areas below). Proficiency awards are also recognized at local and state levels and provide recognition to members that are exploring and becoming established in agricultural career pathways.

In Wyoming, students submit applications to a panel of judges. The judges select up to three outstanding applications in each proficiency award area to receive a bronze, silver, or gold proficiency award.

Students earning a gold emblem at the Wyoming FFA Convention are then eligible to compete in the national proficiency awards competition.

Proficieny Awards Areas


Supervised Agricultural Experiences related to the ownership of an agribusiness or agriculture-related enterprise. The member plans, implements, operates and assumes financial risks of ownership.


Supervised agricultural experiences that include non-ownership, agriculturally-related paid or unpaid employment and/or volunteer work.


Award area for supervised agricultural experiences that are not split between entrepreneurship or placement. Applicants can combine both placement and entrepreneurship records if both are included in the SAE.

Agriscience Research

Supervised agricultural experiences that involve planning and conducting an agriculturally based scientific experiment based on hypothesis and the use of the scientific methods of investigation on the hypothesis.